Home > News & Events > 2016 MAHCP Presidential Election results and message to membership

2016 MAHCP Presidential Election results and message to membership


Dear MAHCP members,

We have the official results for the 2016 Presidential Election.

There were three candidates running for president, listed below by order of last name:

  • Janet Fairbairn
  • Shelley Kowalchuk
  • Bob Moroz

This was the first presidential election in which we used both an electronic vote (also called an E-vote and online vote) and the paper ballot vote. It was also the first election in which we held a presidential candidates’ debate that was posted online for all members across Manitoba to watch.

The Nominations Committee would like to thank you for your patience. We ran into a few difficulties related to these “firsts,” namely that – despite our best efforts – some emails with information on the election and for the E-vote ended up in members’ junk or spam folders. Please remember to check those folders often, as you can instruct your email provider that MAHCP communications are “not junk.”

Another difficulty we came across was the labour uncertainty related to Canada Post. For packages that we sent out, the feedback we received was that delivery was not 100%. We’re inquiring with Canada Post to find out what happened. As a response to this, we made sure to have all information available electronically, via the www.mahcp.ca website and through email.

Now for the RESULTS:

We would like to congratulate Bob Moroz on being re-elected President of the Manitoba Association of Health Care Professionals. He will continue as president after this year’s Annual General Meeting on Oct. 13, 2016. If you haven’t yet registered for AGM, we ask that you do so at https://mahcp.ca/?p=3071

We’d also like to take this opportunity to thank Janet Fairbairn and Shelley Kowalchuk for having run for president; campaigning takes a lot of effort and much time away from family and friends, so kudos to you both.

If you have any questions on the 2016 MAHCP Presidential Election, please feel free to email mahcppresidentialdebate2016@gmail.com

Thank you all so much,

James Stevenson

Chair, Nominations Committee


Find My Labour Relations Officer

Discount Programs

Collective Agreements